How to run a query based on the foreach result set

Hi all, 

Let me first start off by saying I am a novice powershell user and I will greatly appreciate any help I can get. [:D]

Also I am using PowerShell as well as the SQLPSX addon. (Just seems a little easier to wrap my head around)

What I need to do, is run a query, and get the values from the results and pass them into subsequent queries and write each query result to a CSV. 

Up to this point I have been cruising. I am now at the piece where I need to take the results from query A and use the results to power queries B+. 

#Get the distinct KeyValues to run the individual reports from
$SQLQuery3 = "SELECT DISTINCT KeyValue FROM forensics"
$results3 = Get-SQLData -sqlserver $SQLServer -dbname $SQLDatabase -qry $SQLQuery3

foreach ($Obs in $results3) {
$SQLQuery4 = "SELECT ObsValue FROM forensics WHERE KeyValue = '$Obs'"
$results4 = Get-SQLData -sqlserver $SQLServer -dbname $SQLDatabase -qry $SQLQuery4
}

$SQLQuery3 produced 8 numeric values. I was hoping that the $Obs would pull in those individual values and run 8 seperate queries as to which I would have the results export to their own individual .CSV file. However when I am in powershellGUI it states that $Obs is getting the DataRow and not the specific individual values which is why the $SQLQuery4 cannot run. 

Is there any easy way to use foreach and have it report the data and not the datarow??

The main reason I am doing it this way, is I will be using this in unique environments where the KeyValues might not always be the same. 

Thanks in advance, and I apologize if I am not using the correct lingo :). 

• What is the content of $results3.

In other words, if you run this:

$results3 = Get-SQLData -sqlserver $SQLServer -dbname $SQLDatabase -qry $SQLQuery3
    $results3

What is the output? (sanitise as necessary).

• SeanQuinlan said:

What is the content of $results3.

In other words, if you run this:

$results3