Client-server Authentication

Hi,

I'm relatively new to using uptime and I have a basic question regarding client-server authentication.

I install a client on a W2K3 client server box. No problem. I then go to the uptime server and add the client server in as a managed client. I noticed that at no point does it ask me to authenticate against the client server I'm adding. I am then able to monitor pretty much any service, restart them if they fail etc with Action Profiles all from the uptime server. The client application on the client server is running as a system level process.

So my question is – what is stopping a hacker from opening an unauthenticated connection to my servers and taking control of them through the uptime port/protocol? Is the security of my servers now dependent on a firewall rule I will need to roll out across the entire enterprise? If so, is there any intention to implement some sort of inbuilt security between uptime clients and their managing server?

Cheers

• Additionally, will the client operate correctly if I reconfigure it on the client server to use a less privileged account than “SYSTEM”? If I gave it a normal user account, what extra privileges would I need to grant the user? You can assume that I will be monitoring only, and not attempting to restart privileged services, etc.

• Hi Neobyte,
    The up.time agent will allow anyone to retrieve stats back from it, but it will not allow anyone to make any changes on the system. It's purely a read-only setup.

To be able to restart a Windows service you must first need to setup a password on the agent system. The password is stored in the registry on the remote system and the monitoring station will need to have that password entered before it's able to restart the service via the agent. You can set the password by using the Admin Console that's installed with the agent.